It’s time for some sports action folks!  My attention was diverted on our train ride back to London after Hampton Courts when the conductor announced Wimbledon as the next station.  So of course, I had to get off.

A mile and a half walk to the courts and I walked the same paths some of the greatest players of the game have traversed.  Andy Murray, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, the Williams sisters.  All of their names and photos displayed around the stadium reminded me of their greatness and victorious contributions to the great sport of tennis.  I may not be a tennis player, but I can still appreciate the venue and history of the sport in the UK.  A whopping 22 pounds would get me access to the museum and a tour…my wallet is thin enough being in college, so I passed up on the opportunity.  Looking up a documentary about the history of Wimbledon is now added to my to-do list.

The lush green grass put any golf course to shame.  This is the cream of the crop in terms of finely manicured grass.  I did not get a full glimpse of Centre Court of No. 1 Court, but managed to see other side and practice courts.

After about 45 minutes of exploring what non-roped off areas I could find, I walked through a local neighborhood and found myself back at the train station….2 miles later.  Oh well, it’s all good for the legs!

IMG_5919

side practice courts

side practice courts

IMG_5915

Rolex clock, they were everywhere

Rolex clock, they were everywhere

