The Prime Meridian.  What a simple concept.  Stand at 0 degrees, 0′ 0″ on a line, one foot on each side and smile.  It’s so much more than that. The science behind discovering this landmark and monitoring the Earth’s axis, curvature and orbit is closely monitored by researchers at the observatory and planetarium located on site.  I wasn’t willing to pay 7 pounds just to take a picture at the landmark, so I posed at the free picture op location and made it my own. Hiking up to the observatory was a workout in itself, but the view of the entire financial district of London atop the hill was more than worth it.

Up next on my bucket list? The Equator.  But that’ll have to wait til 2016.

Tomorrow we are studying the Victorians and visiting the Victoria and Albert Museum, which features two incredible exhibits.  The first, a chronological depiction of Italian fashion, and the second a “walk through time” by means of wedding dresses, some dating all the way back to the early 1700’s through the present era.  More adventures await tomorrow!

I firmly believe I'm not meant to "fit" in this world. Literally.

I firmly believe I’m not meant to “fit” in this world. Literally.

Entrance to the observatory

Entrance to the observatory

The structure that marks the Prime Meridian

The structure that marks the Prime Meridian

View from the top of the observatory hill

View from the top of the observatory hill

Pic stitch of my trip to the Prime Meridian

Pic stitch of my trip to the Prime Meridian

